This One Thing Will Help You Succeed as an Online Writer

Big Goals, Small Steps

Mark Willis
2 min readOct 1, 2024
Photo by Jodie Cook on Unsplash

If there’s one thing that’s sure to derail your progress as a creator, it’s trying to do everything at once.

I used to fall into that trap.

I thought the key to growing an audience was being active on every social platform — so I created accounts everywhere: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIn.

At first, I was pumped. The posts were flowing, and I felt unstoppable.

Then, two weeks in, I got hit with food poisoning and had to take a few days off.

By the time I returned, all my momentum had vanished, and starting over felt overwhelming.

We often feel overwhelmed when we try to juggle too many tasks at once.

The solution?

Break your big goals into smaller, manageable steps.

When building an audience, focus on making small, consistent progress each day.

Doing a little bit each day is far more effective than trying to tackle everything all at once.

It also keeps you from feeling swamped or falling victim to imposter syndrome.

Instead of chasing big wins, start stacking small ones:

--

--

Mark Willis

Join 500+ creators turning their content into successful online businesses. 👉 https://copycrafter.xyz